2017 Valor Awards

The Valor Awards Committee is charged with selecting the most outstanding members acts of valor from the numerous applications submitted by locals throughout the state. The New Jersey State FMBA proudly hosts an annual awards presentation in April to recognize members of the organization who have gone beyond the overall call of duty in their communities to earn the title of “hero”. The selection committee also honors members for non-fire rescues, and EMS Awards, as well as civilians in a separate category. In addition to the valor awards we also recognize several other award winners at the event, these include a Humanitarian Award winner, the George Steele Award for Media, named after long time FMBA Secretary George Steele. The Mark Virag Brotherhood Award winner, named for former FMBA Sgt. at Arms Mark Virag and the Scott Garber Service Award, named for the former FMBA Trustee Chairman Scott Garber. Both Virag and Garber were taken from us way too soon, and this is a way of remembering them for their dedication to the FMBA. The applications are reviewed by a panel of firefighters and corporate sponsors, and the win- ners are announced each year at the February Convention and Educational Conference.

2018 Valor Awards RSVP Form

Valor Ad Journal

  • 2018 Valor RSVP
  • 2018 Valor Ad Journal
  • 2017 Valor Application
  • 2017 Valor Guidelines
  • 2017 Valor Awards Descriptions